Skip to content

My Experimental Doorbell

August 20, 2012

My doorbell is old… it’s ugly… it’s disconnected… it deserves an upgrade.



(It says “live better electrically”. What is this? The ’60’s?)

So I went on amazon.com to browse through doorbells, but I was a little disappointed. Something bothers me about their selection of doorbells. They’re archaic. Yes. I want to build my own “different” kind of doorbell.

Here are the features I want:

- No buttons. I want it to be fully motion sensored.
– Voice greeting. I want Jarvis to greet the visitor.
– Voice alert. I want Jarvis to notify me (inside the house or wherever I am) that somebody is at my door.
– Logging. I want Jarvis to log and timestamp every time I have a visitor. On top of that, I want Jarvis to store snapshots of the person that’s at my door.

THAT is what I want to see in my doorbell.
So… Let’s make this happen.

First, I need a PIR (passive infrared) motion sensor.

Now take my word for it, this is one of the FEW times where something is actually cheaper at Radio Shack than ebay. No joke. At best, you’ll find the same PIR module at a similar price.

PIR sensors are great for projects that require motion detection. They are great for alarm systems, automatic lights, doors, urinals…. NOT bowl toilets. I repeat, they are terrible for sit-down toilets. I don’t understand why toilet manufacturers STILL use them. It flushes while you’re trying to lay sheets of toilet seat cover, and it doesn’t flush when you want it to.

PIR modules are very easy to use. The latest ones from parallax (the ones they sell at radio shack) output 5v upon movement. This means you can use it to power something small without a microcontroller and/or transistor.
In my case, I want it to activate a voice recording.

Second, I need a way to play back recorded voices.
In my previous projects, I used a piezo transducer to produce sounds… but those are limited to beeps. Making your arduino play recorded sounds, voices, and or music is a bit trickier. The easiest way to accomplish this is to use something like an arduino “wave shield”.

These are sold on ebay for about $20. I just need to plug a speaker into the wave shield so visitors can hear Jarvis’ friendly voice.

The other components I will need include an arduino ethernet shield, a surveillance camera, and Jarvis of course.

This is how my “doorbell” will work:

1) PIR sensor detects motion.
2) Did it already detect motion? If so jump back to 1. Otherwise, go to 3.
3) Trigger pre-recorded voice of Jarvis on wave shield that says “Hello. I am notifying my master that you are here”.
4) Make a call to the doorbell server API and let it know that I have a visitor.
5) Server takes a feed off the front door surveillance cam and creates a snapshot image.
6) Server takes that snapshot image and converts it into a base64 encoded dataurl so we don’t have to store the image as a file.
7) Server logs that data and timestamps it.
8) Meanwhile, Jarvis is polling the doorbell server via ajax requests.
9) Does Jarvis see new visitor data? If so, alert me with “You have a visitor” and show me a snapshot from my front doorstep on my screen.

Piecing it together


I stacked the ethernet shield on top of the arduino, and I stacked the wave shield on top of the ethernet shield.
I only needed 3 wires: +5v, gnd, and digital pin 4. All of which goes to the PIR sensor.

You can view the arduino source code here.

I ran a few tests which proved to be successful.



and a closer look at Jarvis when she alerts me of a visitor:

Here is a video of my prototype doorbell in action:

Cool! All I have to do now is install it! On second thought, I’m probably going to wait for the weather to cool down. Running wire through the baking hot attic in the summertime does NOT sound fun.

From → Hacks

24 Comments
  1. Young permalink

    u need an “intern” lol

  2. Daddy permalink

    LOLOLOLOL ” i will let my master know you are here”

  3. Dude, I want to build this! Thanks for posting the source.

  4. Billy permalink

    Still have the old door bell? Like to sell it? Email me.

  5. suresh permalink

    im intrested in this type of door bells pls gv me details clearly pls

    im from hyd andrapradesh india

  6. Professionally established, designed, and marketed social media accounts such as Twitter
    and Facebook allow skin care companies to build
    out their skin care communities. Many sites now use their fonts as much as for visuals
    as they do for conveying information. These
    days for any small problems or small inquiries about anything, people just use the web.

  7. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting, and without
    a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently
    about. Now i’m very happy that I found this in my search for
    something regarding this.

  8. It took a little time for me a long time to figure out whatever you were talking
    about.

  9. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
    sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.

    Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  10. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  11. Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this webpage to get most up-to-date
    updates, so where can i do it please help.

  12. Hi there! I know this is kinda offf topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blg platform ass yours and I’m having problemms finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  13. Good day I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I
    really found you by error, while I was searching on Bing for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for
    a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse
    it all at the minute but I have saved it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more,
    Please do keep up the awesome job.

  14. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at
    many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  15. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of
    time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates readable,
    SEO friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

  16. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is awesome, great written and include almost all vital infos.
    I’d like to peer more posts like this .

  17. Can I just say what a relief to discover an individual who really understands what
    they’re talking about on the net. You certainly realize how to
    bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people ought to look at this and understand this side of the story.

    I was surprised you’re not more popular because you surely possess the gift.

  18. Thanks for some other informative site. The place
    else could I get that type of information written in such a
    perfect means? I’ve a venture that I am just now operating on,
    and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

  19. In fact no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of then its
    up to other users that they will help, so here it happens.

  20. I know this web site gives quality dependent articles and other stuff, is there any other website which provides such data in quality?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,436 other followers

