Skip to content

Engineers, Stay Agile

April 4, 2013

Engineers, stay agile.
I became a software engineer for many reasons. I love to code. I love to create. I love solving puzzles. I love exploring different technologies. I love the rewards. I chase the knowledge. I desire to make a difference.
Chances are, you do too.
You may have become a programmer for the very same reasons I did. But allow me to raise a few questions:
Are you really doing what you love? Are you being challenged mentally? Are you chasing the knowledge? Are you truly on your way to making a difference?
If your honest answer is “yes”, I am happy for you. For everyone else, you are not alone.

Doing what you love: code, create, solve problems, explore different technologies

As a software architect, most job opportunities come with a verbal promise of “freedom to build the product the way you want to do it”. Additionally, there will be “many opportunities to explore different technologies as the business expands into this and that”.
The latter is utter BS. The first is a catch-22 type BS. Isn’t it funny how even the CEO knows that the engineer’s dream job is doing R&D and will try to make his/her company appear like one?
Look. I appreciate the “freedom”, but let’s be real. I’m not hired to build the product in that functional programming language I am dying to try out. No. I’m being hired to build it with the technologies I’m most experienced with (and consequently, bored to death of). And IF the company is fortunate enough to “expand”, they will want me to stay right where I am “manning the station” THEY feel most comfortable with. After all, the goal is to build a well-oiled machine while the engineers (and other employees) act like the hamsters spinning the wheels. Before you know it, you’ve spent a good chunk of your life learning nothing and being a tool.

Challenging yourself mentally

Let’s face it. We all interpret “challenging” differently. For an engineer, a challenge would be to figure out how to improve an algorithm’s efficiency by an order of magnitude. A challenge would be to figure out how to scale your architecture to handle enterprise level traffic without going over budget. A challenge would be to write software that can analyze images for an autonomous vehicle.
Your employer on the other hand, thinks you’re being challenged because you are given a deadline of 4 weeks to build a social networking site. They think you’re being challenged because you are expected to work 16 hours a day / 7 days a week.

Chasing the knowledge

You are a curious individual. I know you love to learn new things. So when did you last pick up something new? What was the last book you read? Does your job give you time to study and read? Know this. As engineers, if you don’t keep up with the latest technological trends, your value diminishes. Staying stagnant is the same as moving backwards. Do you know any Pascal or VB6 programmers? Lotus 1-2-3, Quattro Pro, WordPerfect experts? Coldfusion developers? Corel Draw designers? I can brag about being able to redefine your keyboard while performing a dedicated print over a BBS chat room if you load ansi.sys in your config.sys… but who cares? It’s irrelevant now. Yeah. Unless you do something about it, you too will expire.

Making a difference

You’re probably working on something cool. There may be similar products out there but they lack this feature and that feature, right? You’ve perfected your 30 second elevator pitch in case somebody asks you what you’re working on and you generally receive positive feedback. But is your contribution to this product really going to make a difference in this world? While on your deathbed, will you look back and be proud of this thing you built? Or is it just another gimmicky website or iphone app that will likely lose its value in a couple years?

Staying agile…

I understand you need to make a living, but I don’t think any job is worth sacrificing your own growth. I am a workhorse. I have spoiled my employers by pulling the weight of several engineers while being underpaid. I have spoiled my employers by working nights and weekends and forfeiting vacations (while they traveled the world). I have spoiled my employers by taking ownership of my work even though I own nothing but a few insulting stock options. Don’t fall victim to the smooth talking businessman/woman who entices you to make his/her ideas come to life while your own life’s priorities take a back seat. They have glorified the workaholic engineering lifestyle… the redbulls and hackathons…
Ha! Screw hackathons. We don’t throw business people into a little room and reward them with redbulls and T-shirts while they stay up all weekend to make money for us.

Listen. I love working on startups and I’m sure you do too. But get one thing straight: If you’re not the owner of your company, you have a job. Treat it as such. Meanwhile, invest some time into your own life and maintain your worth. Stay agile.
Lateral career movements are sometimes the only way for you to better yourself and keep your work from turning stale.
I prefer sabbaticals. During my occasional sabbaticals, I disappear from the workforce and read books, learn new things, build pet projects, etc.
… and I always return stronger.

From → Other

10 Comments
  1. drewyoon permalink

    Really awesome article. Could not ring truer as i brace for another evening crunch.
    Im always saddened by stagnant devs/designers. Even moreso by the ones that rise to managerial positions and mandate their dated thinking on everyone. Learning new tools/languages gets easier every time, not that big a deal.
    Anyway, thanks for sharing!

  2. drewyoon permalink

    I also think true agile is difficult for most, as a fundamental tenant is to embrace failure, fail alot and fail fast. Expect failure. In my current place, most folks want it perfect at every step. Nobody fucking look till its perfect! Its all insecurity based and obv produces subpar work. I get it tho, it can be scary and humbling.

    • ahh, that is so true Andrew. Insecurity is also why so much engineering talent gets exploited by some self-proclaimed “business guru” whom, in reality, is new to the tech scene. As a developer, do you ever feel like an architect that is building based off a 6 year old’s doodling?

  3. great post cranky. ive definitely been that six year old showing off crayon doodles, at the same time have learned so much, humbled and inspired working with awesome engineers. my observation has been that those startups who view engineering as a cog in the wheel dont stick around too long–it’s those who view engineering AS the wheel who are able to harness the agility and have sustained success.

  4. Thanks for the post! I’m a Web Developer working in a closed minded group. That we use what they like or what is best, and we follow standards of the lead developer. Also not only using technologies what they want and not expand. I can’t complain it pays the bills, but I feel that I wish we weren’t so locked down to certain technologies and we can expand. I would love to play around with Ruby and Python for our sites, and I am surprised we finally started to use Less, in which I’m a Sass guy. Just gota keep moving forward.

    • Thanks for sharing Justin. I hear ya. I hope you have time to invest in yourself. I don’t like seeing brilliant minds getting exploited by some manipulative d-bag.🙂 Stay strong!

  5. Victor Cruz permalink

    Do you have any advice for up and coming programmers? Words of wisdom and such
    -just a thought

    • Hey Victor, I don’t think I’m wise enough to deliver any words of wisdom but I do have one word of advice: Never stop learning!

  6. crank, please i want to know a software that i can use to monitor the location of my phone. something like GPS.. I tried downloading some online but its simply not working. thanks

Leave a Reply

