Skip to content

Bots Rule The World

June 19, 2013

I’ve been offered generous pay to artificially increase the views on youtube videos to which I replied, “no thanks”.
When my friend entered an online contest that involved a video submission, I happily agreed to help him out by “boosting” his view count without any compensation. Why? Because I felt like it.

***** Full Disclaimer *****
I have never broken the law using my software. My bots have never been used for profit or self gain. This is purely educational and I denounce anybody that abuses this information to break the law.

Building the Video Views Bot

As a software engineer, part of your job is to be confident enough to build things you’ve never built before or solve problems you don’t yet know the answer to. This bot is no different. I have never “tricked” a youtube-like site into more views, but how difficult could it be? As long as I build a bot that behaves exactly like a human on a browser (but faster), it should be easy.

First, I viewed a full video on said video hosting site while logging packets. You can also use firebug which makes it easier. Then I inspected each of the packets. I don’t know what purpose some of these packets serve, but I decided it’s best to assume each of these are important. I kept a close eye for identifiers that are unique per pageload and strings of numbers that look like a timestamp of some sort. If the timestamp reveals that the user finished watching a 10 minute video in a split second, foul play might be suspected. When making the bot, I simply took every GET and POST request and simulated these actions using the curl library. For each of the requests that contained timestamps, I replaced the timestamp with a true timestamp, but padded with the time difference found in the original packet’s timestamp. This may be overkill and to make this work it may actually be much simpler, but I was thorough to be sure I wasn’t missing any crucial elements.
Coupled with the random browser agent generator I’ve made before, this bot is good to go.
Remember that most view counters will impose a limit per IP (usually higher than 1 since several computers can share the same WAN IP). Finding this upper bound is your job. I’ll talk more on circumventing this limitation later. Either way, just know I was able to feed it false video views like I was feeding chocolate cake to a fat kid.

Building the Vote Bot

The second part of this online contest (which shall remain unidentified) required actual user submitted votes. Each voter would have to enter their email address, then cast a vote. The voter is limited to one vote per 24 hour period. I began testing the site like I would any other; I captured packets. One thing I noticed was that the form buttons were not posting to an action page, rather triggering a jquery method. I found a javascript file that was being imported in the header called “main.js”. When I took a look at it, included all the voting methods. I discovered that everytime one submits a vote, an ajax request is called to validate the email address and check to see if that email address has voted once in the past 24 hours.


    function  validateVote()
    {
        $.ajax({
            url: '/api/set_vote/'+ encodeURIComponent($('#email').val())+'/'+ $('#candidate').val(),
            type: 'GET',
            dataType: 'html',
            success: function(data, textStatus, xhr) {
                $('#step1').hide();
                $('#step2').hide();
                $('#step3').fadeIn();
                $('#step4').hide();
            },
            error: function(xhr, textStatus, errorThrown) {
                console.log(errorThrown);
            }
        });
    }

It returns a boolean value; if the value is set to true, it makes yet another ajax request to submit the actual vote.


    function  submitVote()
    {
        var error = "";
        var email = $('#email').val();

        if( !validateEmail(email) )
            error = "INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS";

        if( !$("#conditions").is(':checked') )
        {
            error = "YOU MUST ACCEPT TERMS AND CONDITIONS";
        }

        if( !$("#policy").is(':checked') )
        {
            error = "YOU MUST ACCEPT PRIVACY POLICY";
        }

        if( !error )
        {
            $('#error').html("");

            $.ajax({
                url: '/api/check_email/'+ encodeURIComponent($('#email').val()),
                type: 'GET',
                dataType: 'html',
                success: function(data, textStatus, xhr) {
                    if( parseInt(data)==0 )
                    {
                        $('#step1').hide();
                        $('#step2 .voted').hide();
                        $('#step2 #vote_'+$('#candidate').val()).show();
                        $('#step2').fadeIn();
                        $('#step3').hide();
                        $('#step4').hide();
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        $('#step1').hide();
                        $('#step2').hide();
                        $('#step3').hide();
                        $('#usedemail').html($('#email').val());
                        $('#usedhours').html( Math.ceil((parseInt(data)/3600)) );
                        $('#step4').fadeIn();
                    }
                },
                error: function(xhr, textStatus, errorThrown) {
                    console.log(errorThrown);
                }
            });

        }
        else{
            $('#error').html(error);
        }
    }

Now that’s just stupid.
Since the ajax request is made to an “api.php”, I decided to test that out. I called this file while purposely denying it of any expected parameters and it returned a really bad error message… straight from their MySQL to my web browser.


A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Missing argument 2 for Api::set_vote()

Filename: controllers/api.php

Line Number: 117
A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined variable: candidate

Filename: controllers/api.php

Line Number: 127
A Database Error Occurred

Error Number: 1048

Column 'vote_value' cannot be null

INSERT INTO `vote` (`vote_email`, `vote_ip`, `vote_value`, `vote_date`, `vote_shared`, `vote_fbid`) VALUES ('mike@gmail.com', '10.10.10.10', NULL, '2013-06-03 06:42:29', '', '0')

Filename: /var/www/microsite/[removed]/models/vote.php

Line Number: 63

Programmers, please don’t do this. I understand that many programmers are not sysadmins and vice versa, but it doesn’t take much to edit that php.ini and change the error reporting value to something less revealing. By looking at this, I was able to see exactly which bits and pieces of data they were collecting. To top it off, each vote is submitted via an HTTP GET request. Look, I understand if you don’t follow all of the HTTP protocol and use DELETE or PUT, but GET for votes? Your browser is sending your email address as part of the URI. Come on!
So I was able to craft up a voting bot really quick. I used it to submit a couple hundred votes and noticed it limited me to 50. There were no cookies, I used my unique browser agent generator, and it still limited me to 50. I knew right away it was an IP limitation.

Circumventing IP Limitations

One cannot simply “spoof” their source IP because the IP info is too deep in the TCP layer and it would break the three-way handshake. You can go about this a few ways:
1) Use proxies
2) Utilize a botnet (if you have access to one).
3) Drive around town with your laptop and wardrive open wifi networks.
4) Launch a bunch of instances on the Amazon EC2 and use IPs from their pool.

*yoda voice* No. There is another….
Yes, I figured out another way to utilize more IPs. Since this lame online contest used GET requests, I was able to write a small PHP snippet that generated random emails and launch N number of invisible iframes that automatically pull up the magic URI. By embedding this small snippet of PHP code into another website (preferably with a decent amount of traffic), I have managed to crowdsource the votes.
I call these bots “crowdsource bots”.
I’m not saying this is ethical, but it’s not illegal either… just frowned upon. Even if the contest voting submitted POST requests (like it should), I could still use this method (with an additional step of course). CSRF protections prevent automatic cross-domain POST requests, but you can overcome this by simulating a human mouse click via javascript.

In the end, it was super easy getting my candidate to gain the most views and the most votes. However, the human element (the powers that be) dictated that my candidate did not win.

I’m not saying bots are superior to humans; they are not. Nevertheless, bots rule the world. They perform human tasks infinitely quicker and more efficient. Isn’t that what software is all about – speed and efficiency? Those that take advantage of bots come out on top. My friend Eric Kim introduced me to the world of financial trading. He forwards me articles about high frequency trading and how bots control the market. (This is an area I would like to explore in the future). If we engage in cyber warfare, guess who’s on the front line? Bots. Arguably, I think most of our simpleton, overpaid politicians can be replaced by bots. We can replace our entire executive branch and congress with bots.
senator1.py, senator2.py, houserep1.py, houserep2.py, president.sh, vicepresident.bat
These bots would not fall under temptation. They would be fair. They would not engage in scandals. They would not play partisan politics. They would not spend wastefully. They would save taxpayers a LOT of money.

Just saying…

From → Hacks

7 Comments
  1. Wow, nice post. Thanks for posting it!

  2. This is really interesting. You’re crowdsourcing technique is absolutely brilliant!

  3. bot permalink

    Awesome article (espacially the end)! Please keep up the work!
    I did some research in financial trading via bots and could only find normal stock sides like yahoo finance. In order to do something I guess one would need access to an API that is made for selling/buying/… . What do you think?

Leave a Reply

